Interview – Lucy Rose.

It’s been a manic and rewarding year for the young nu-folk sensation Lucy Rose. Touring The States with our beloved Bombay Bicycle Club, tapping into Britain’s great festival circuit while more recently continuing her first UK tour in support of debut album Like I Used To.

We caught up with Lucy Rose to talk tours, tea and the new album.

Q – Congratulations on your new album, it really is a wonderful listen, how has the general reaction been from fans?

I think it’s been positive, I normally only receive messages from people who say they like it which is lucky.

Q – Tell us what kind of things you write about, does the album have a certain theme going on?

I mean I wrote the songs in a time of my life when I was really discovering who I was and what I wanted to be. I was trying everything and being young. So a lot of the songs are talking about things I used to do and how I feel different now.

Q – Could you pick a track that would you say sums up your sound best?

That’s so difficult to know. I don’t think there is one. There is so much variety on the album, from the really stripped back acoustic songs to the much more raucous ones like Lines with the tempo changes etc.

Q – While on tour you started selling your own blend of tea in replacement of merchandise. What brought this decision on?

I only thought of it because I am highly obsessed with tea and especially this blend. It’s a mixture of earl grey and english breakfast and I just thought I’d make some and sell it cause I didn’t have any CD’s. I can’t believe people bought it.

Q – Prior to Like I Used To was released you had put out four singles, did you always intend on including them on the album?

I think so. I was working towards recording this album and felt like I needed to start releasing some music. Scar which was a single didn’t make it onto the album, just the deluxe version because I wanted to make space for some new songs.

Q – Name a few musicians you look up to?

So many, the list is never ending, Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, Joan Armatrading, Carole King, Tom Waits, Nico….

Q – You have toured and recorded with Bombay Bicycle Club, what’s your favourite track of theirs?

That’s a tough question but for various reasons I think I’d go with Lights Out Words Gone.

glasses Q – You have played plenty of festivals over the summer, what was your most special festival experience of 2012?

I’ve enjoyed so many of the festivals this year, Green Man was particularly brilliant and so was Reading. I didn’t think I was going to get booked for it and I was really nervous about it seeing as it’s such a massively well known festival. I couldn’t believe the crowd that turned up and the response we got.

Q – Your tour is well underway, how is it going, everything running smoothly?

I’ve just been away in Europe for two weeks and now about to leave for a five week tour in UK starting on Saturday so I’ll let you know how it is after a few weeks. They always have their ups and downs.

Q – Where’s your favorite place to spend time, off of the road?

Back home but I never seem to get enough time of to make the trip so I always end up staying in London.

Q – You say you’re a lot more than just another girl with a guitar, what would you say makes you unique?

Hopefully the sound. I don’t want it to always be just me and guitar, but sometimes a much fuller sound with more experimentation with tempos, time changes and ideas. Who knows, maybe I’m just dreaming.

Q – What music you have been hugely into recently?

Grizzly Bear’s new album, The Maccabees and Kurt Vile.

Q – So, your debut album is out and you’re touring until late November, what are your plans for next year?

Not sure yet, I suppose I’ll have to wait and see how things turn out and work from then. I don’t seem to look to far into the future if I can help it.

Thanks so for your time Lucy, good luck on your upcoming dates.


Remember to check out Lucy Rose’s latest tour dates below, and the new album Like I Used To is also now available online.

This entry was posted in Interviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

