Interview – Little Barrie

Little Barrie are a powerhouse trio who emerged from Nottingham, they take a heavy soul and blues influence and adapt it into their unique rock and roll style. Since the release of their debut album We Are Little Barrie in 2005 they have certainly become no strangers to success. With their latest album King Of The Waves the band have really managed to capture the immense raw energy that they give off during their live sets. It seems that Little Barrie are growing stronger and stronger with each release.
We caught up with vocalist and lead guitarist Barrie Cadogan who has played alongside the likes of Paul WellerPrimal Scream and Morrissey.

Hello Barrie, appreciate your time.

Q – So your third album, King Of The Waves has much more of a rock ‘n’ roll vibe than your previous releases. Would you say that the bands musical direction has changed since your debut album We Are Little Barrie?

Yes it has changed since I started the band, I think that’s a natural thing that’s bound to happen. In the beginning we were more directly influenced by soul and funk, then other things came in during the second album like rockabilly and Bo Diddley. As we’ve gone on the band have become more powerful live and with the third album we wanted to capture more of that explosive energy in the recordings. I also got into more things like Link Wray, while Lewis was really into The Cramps. We started turning the amps up, using reverbs to created a more intense darker sound.

Q – I managed to catch your set at Hop Farm festival earlier in the year, your setlist mainly consisted of tracks from King Of The Waves. Do you feel that the new material is better to play live?

We really enjoyed that gig, We only just made it in time! It was a fairly short set at Hop Farm and we wanted to play more new songs. The band really gelled around the time of King Of The Waves, when Virgil joined. We do tend to feel like playing more of our newer songs during gigs. I think it’s because they’re closer to where our heads are at, although we do play some older ones too.

Q – From where I was standing, (front row of course) the huge guitar solo’s throughout the set received a fantastic crowd reaction. What guitarists inspired your style? 

My first big influence was John Squire. My older sister bought me The Stone Roses album when it came out. It had a massive effect on me, he inspired me to learn the guitar.

Around the same time I saw a film of Chuck Berry on TV that was amazing too. I loved Chucks red Gibson guitar. Soon after I also got really into J Mascis, Johnny Marr, Jimi Hendrix, Ray Hanson (from Jim Jones early band The Hypnotics), Throb from Primal Scream, Kevin Shields, Steve Jones, Mick Jones and Steve Turner from Mudhoney. From those players I learned more about music from the past and what may have influenced them. Guitar players continue to inspire me all the time. Right now I’m really into Tommy Brenneck who plays with Charles Bradley and Anton Newcombe from The Brian Jonestown Massacre. Playing with Andrew Innes in Primal Scream is always exciting too.

Q – I would call you more of a stylised rock and roll band. Little Barrie’s sound has a cool edge to it. I think that largely comes from the vocals and original sounding blues guitar riffs. What do you feel makes your sound unique?

I guess it’s a combination of things. Largely to do with the way Lewis, Virgil and I play together and our influences. It took me a while but I eventually felt like I found a guitar sound that was my own, using certain guitars and amps and developing that with the song ideas I had.

Barrie Cadogan.

Q – I’m a big fan of Miles Kane and his 60’s/70’s influence. As  frontmen I felt that you and Miles Kane have a similar type of stage presence, rocking up on stage well dressed and absolutely going for it. Are you aware of him and his music?

A good friend of mine knows Miles very well, I’ve met him a few times, he’s always really nice. I’ve not had chance to see him live yet though.

Q – What track seems to get the best reaction from the crowd at your gigs?

I think it to depends on the gig. Tip It Over always seems to do something to the audience though. It’s kinda hypnotic.

Q – What was your favourite festival experience this Summer and why?

I would have to say Heaton Park opening for The Stone Roses with Primal Scream. It was an amazing experience to play at the same gig as the people who inspired you to play in the first place. They absolutely smashed it.

Q – You have played alongside the likes of Primal Scream, Morrissey and Paul Weller. What’s it like working with these musical Icons?

It’s been great to work with all these people. I’ve had chance to play some great music all with people I really like and respect. It’s interesting as you learn a lot about songs and structure, how people work. I think it’s a good thing as it gives you a fresh approach to your own music. I’ve also had the opportunity to travel which I hardly ever did before.

Q – Glastonbury tickets sold out in record time recently, what do you recall from your last visit playing the festival?

Last time I was at Glastonbury was with Primal Scream in 2011 when we played Screamadelica. I remember the weather was awful but the audience stuck it out for the whole gig and they were fantastic. I remember looking up at seeing all the crowd singing Come Together while the rain was pelting down at 45 degrees.

 Q – Can you fill us in on Little Barrie’s plans for the rest of the year?

We have a few gigs coming up, one in Leeds this week and a few in France the week after. Then later in November we play Manchester on the 17th and have a few gigs in London. We’re writing new songs too. I’m off to the studio now to work on a few things. We want to do more recording and put some new records out as soon as we can.

Thanks once again Barrie, really good to hear from you.

Don’t forget that all of Little Barrie’s albums are available on Spotify and iTunes. You can find out their latest information such as tour dates via the Little Barrie website http://littlebarrie.com/ or alternatively their facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/littlebarrieband

This entry was posted in Interviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

